menu Home chevron_right

States Given 7 Days by Supreme Court to Respond to Nigerian Governments ‘s LG Autonomy Suit

Boom RadioNG | May 30, 2024

The Supreme Court of Nigeria has ordered the governors of the 36 States of the federation to file their respective defence to a suit instituted against them by the Federal Government and ordered the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), Lateef Fagbemi, to file his reply within two days, after receipt of their defence.

Leading a seven-man panel, Justice Garba Lawal issued the order while ruling on an application for abridgment of time argued by the AGF.


The judge said that the decision of the court was predicated on the national urgency of the suit and the non-objection from the Attorneys General of the states of the Federation.

The Supreme Court held that filing of all processes and exchanging of same must be completed within the time and subsequently fixed June 13 for hearing of the suit.

In addition, Justice Lawal ordered that the eight states that were not in attendance at today’s proceedings be served with fresh hearing notice. They are  Borno, Kano, Kogi, Niger, Ogun, Osun, Oyo and Sokoto.

The Federal Government is suing the state governors seeking full autonomy for the 774 local governments in the country.


Dolupo Balogun

Written by Boom RadioNG


This post currently has no comments.

Leave a Reply

  • play_circle_filled


play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down