menu Home chevron_right

4 more commissioners resign from Gov. Fubara’s cabinet

Boom RadioNG | May 15, 2024

A new set of resignations has hit the Rivers State Government seeing four more commissioners, who are said to be loyal to the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and former Governor of the state, Nyesom Wike resign from Governor Fubara’s cabinet.

Those who resigned are the commissioner of Education, Chinedu Mmom, commissioner of Housing, Gift Worlu, commissioner of transport, Jacobson Nbina and the Commissioner for Social Welfare and Rehabilitation, Inime Aguma stating  that “there is no room for progressional development in the work place” as reason for the resignation.

Commissioners Mmom and Worlu cited a toxic working environment as the main reason for their exit while Nbina cited “unresolved political crisis” in the state as his reason for exit.

Some Rivers State Commissioners during their swearing in ceremony in 2023

These four people were among the commissioners who resigned initially from the governor’s cabinet last December in the wake of the political crisis in the state but were readmitted into the governor’s cabinet following President Bola Tinubu’s intervention.

Earlier, three commissioners, Zacchaeus Adangor, Emeka Woke and Alabo George-Kelly also resigned from the Ministries of Justice, Special Projects and Works respectively.

Governor Fubara recently accused his opponents of deliberately sabotaging his administration while he was hoping that the issue in the state would be resolved amicably.

The move is the latest plot twist in the political crisis rocking the oil-rich state in addition to the deepening feud between Governor Fubara and the state House of Assembly.


Dolupo Balogun

Written by Boom RadioNG


This post currently has no comments.

Leave a Reply

  • play_circle_filled


play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down