menu Home chevron_right

President Buhari signs 16 constitution amendement bills into law

BoomRadioNG | March 17, 2023

President Buhari has signed 16 constitution amendment bills into law. The Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives and Chairman House Committee on Constitution Review, Idris Wase (APC, Plateau) made this known in a statement published today.

The deputy speaker commended the president for giving assent to the bills, which according to him will devolve more power to states.

Some of the bills signed are financial independence of State Houses of Assembly and State Judiciary, the removal of the railway, prison and electricity from the exclusive legislative list to the concurrent list.


President Buhari
photo credit: Aso Villa



The National Assembly had in January transmitted 35 constitution amendment bills to the president for assent.

The 35 bills have been considered by 27 State Houses of Assembly (SHA) and approved by at least 24 state assemblies as required by Section 9 of the Constitution.

The state assemblies, however, failed to vote on the two bills that seek financial and legislative autonomy for local governments.





Dolupo Balogun

Written by BoomRadioNG


This post currently has no comments.

Leave a Reply


    • play_circle_filled


    play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down