menu Home chevron_right

Nigeria Senate Confirms Secretary and Board Members for the EFCC

BoomRadioNG | October 5, 2021

The Nigerian senate has confirmed five nominations sent by the president for the positions of the Secretary and Board Members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The Secretary confirmed is George Abang Ekunugu from Cross-River, the board members are Luqman Muhammed from Edo, Anumba Adaeze from Enugu, Kola Raheem Adesina from Kwara and Yahaya Muhammad from Yobe states.



The confirmation was done after there was consideration of a report by the Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes. While, presenting the report, the chairman of the committee, Kwari Suleiman Abdu said the request to confirm the nominees was in line with the EFCC Act 2004.

He said the act provides for the appointment of the Secretary to the Commission, which shall be the Head of Administration of EFCC and four Nigerians with cognate experience in either Finance, Banking and Accounting, in addition to any other requirements.

According to him, the committee in furtherance of its mandate had screened the nominees on September 27. The Senate approved their appointment after a voice vote.


Nigerian Senate


Also during today’s plenary, five bills were also considered for first reading, they are: Health Education Practitioners Board of Nigeria Registration Bill 2021; National Veterinary Research Institute, Gombe Establishment Bill 2021; Institute of Culture and Tourism Oke-Igbo, Ondo State Establishment Bill 2021; Legal Education Consolidation Act Amendment Bill 2021; and Central Bank of Nigeria Act Amendment Bill 2021.

Written by BoomRadioNG


This post currently has no comments.

Leave a Reply


[contact-form-7 id="914" title="Contact form 1"]

  • play_circle_filled


play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down